Volunteers of America Oregon

DePreist Award for Excellence

DePreist Award for Excellence Honoring Pink Martini

Join the Change Agenda

By making a donation now, you too can be one of our VOA stars!

Rewatch the 2020 DePreist Award for Excellence

The DePreist Award for Excellence was established in 2000 to honor the contributions of the late Oregon Symphony Maestro James “Jimmy” DePreist and his wife Ginette to the Portland community. “The DePreists remind us of the importance of service to others as well as the value of the arts in our community,” said Kay Toran, President/CEO of Volunteers of America Oregon.

The DePreist Award for Excellence Gala, now in its 20th year, includes hundreds of business, community, and philanthropic leaders as guests. This year, rather than have our usual awards presentation gala at the Portland Art Museum, we will use the Kridel Ballroom Stage to host an hour-long Benefit Variety Show, featuring some of our favorite local artists, as well as live performances by Pink Martini. The show will be aired live on KGW and streamed online simultaneously. Join us for this one-of-a-kind event!

The net proceeds of the event further VOA Oregon’s mission “to change lives by promoting self-determination, building strong communities, and standing for social justice.”

Thank you to our sponsors!

Presenting Sponsor

Community Sponsor

Media Sponsor

Matching Sponsor

Maybelle Clark Macdonald fund logo

Board Match Supporter

Advocate Sponsor


2019 Arlene Schnitzer

2018 Gertrude Boyle

2017 Gwyneth Gamble Booth

2016 Gary Maffei

2015 Reverend William Beauchamp, CSC

2014 Al and Nancy Jubitz and Victor Atiyeh, Lifetime Achievement Award to Bernie & Bobbie Foster

2013 Award for Excellence Intel Foundation

2012 Greg Chaillẻ

2011 Richard and Carilyn Alexander and Lifetime Achievement Award to Former Governor Victor G. Atiyeh

2010 Tom Kelly

2009 Marta and Ken Thrasher 

2008 Joan and Ken Austin

2007 Joyce and Bill Furman

2006 George Passadore

2005 Jordan Schnitzer

2004 Sho Dozono

2003 Jean Vollum

2000 James and Ginette DePreist