DePreist Award for Excellence

Join Team VOA Oregon

On September 23rd we celebrated 125 years of service in Oregon with our DePreist Award for Excellence virtual fundraiser where we raised over $160,000. There is still time to support VOA Oregon. Help us reach our fundraising goal of $200,000. Thanks to the generosity of Jordan Schnitzer of the Harold and Arlene Schnitzer CARE Foundation, any gift made at the $1 – $50 range will be matched, making your gift even more impactful. Join us in being an advocate for change today! 

The DePreist Award for Excellence was established in 2000 to honor the contributions of the late Oregon Symphony Maestro James “Jimmy” DePreist and his wife Ginette to the Portland community. “The DePreists remind us of the importance of service to others as well as the value of the arts in our community,” said Kay Toran, President/CEO of Volunteers of America Oregon.

The DePreist Award for Excellence Gala, now in its 21st year, includes hundreds of business, community, and philanthropic leaders as guests. The show will be aired live on KGW and streamed online simultaneously. Join us for this one-of-a-kind event!

The net proceeds of the event further VOA Oregon’s mission “to enhance lives by promoting self-determination, building strong communities, and standing for social justice.”

Thank you to our sponsors!

Presenting Sponsor

Cornerstone Sponsor

Maybelle Clark Macdonald fund logo

Benefactor Sponsor

Leadership Sponsor

Carilyn Alexander

The Samuel S. Johnson Foundation

Community Sponsor


Looking Back

Did you know that in 2020 we honored Thomas Lauderdale and Barbara Kay Roberts? We also had great performances by Pink Martini.


2020 Thomas lauderdale & Pink martini,
         Victor atiyeh lifetime achievement award to barbara kay roberts

2019 Arlene Schnitzer

2018 Gertrude Boyle

2017 Gwyneth Gamble Booth

2016 Gary Maffei

2015 Reverend William Beauchamp, CSC

2014 Al and Nancy Jubitz, 
         Victor Atiyeh Lifetime Achievement Award to Bernie & Bobbie Foster

2013 Award for Excellence Intel Foundation

2012 Greg Chaillẻ

2011 Richard and Carilyn Alexander, 
         Lifetime Achievement Award to Former Governor Victor G. Atiyeh

2010 Tom Kelly

2009 Marta and Ken Thrasher 

2008 Joan and Ken Austin

2007 Joyce and Bill Furman

2006 George Passadore

2005 Jordan Schnitzer

2004 Sho Dozono

2003 Jean Vollum

2000 James and Ginette DePreist